Barton Bill Now Has 20 Co-Sponsors

This story was published more than 12 years ago.

U.S. House Representative Joe Barton (R-TX) has added six additional co-sponsors for his online poker bill, bringing the total number of congressional supporters of his bill to twenty.

H.R. 2366, titled the Online Poker Act of 2011 picked up five Democrats and one additional Republican. Since the bill was introduced last month it has picked up the following co-sponsors:

Robert Andrews (D-NJ), Shelley Berkley (D-NV), John Campbell (R-CA), Steve Cohen (D-TN), John Conyers (D-MI), Barney Frank (D-MA), Michael Grimm (R-NY), Michael Honda (D-CA), Peter King (R-NY), James Moran (D-VA), Ronald Paul (R-TX), Ed Perlmutter (D-CO), Jared Polis (D-CO) and Linda Sánchez (D-CA).

The new congressional members to sign onto this bill are: Lynn Woolsey (D-CA), Bob Filner (D-CA), Michael Capuano (D-MA), Eliot Engel (D-NY), Steve Israel (D-NY) and Joe Heck (R-NV).

The Online Poker Act of 2011 aims to legalize and regulate online poker in the United States. It would also clarify the UIGEA and prohibit online casino games that are currently undefined under current laws. It has picked up support from the Poker Players Alliance and is currently in committee, scheduled for debate.