Jersey politicians in talks with the UK government

This story was published more than 12 years ago.

Relative newcomer to the roll call of online gambling jurisdictions, Jersey in the Channel Isles, has approached the British government with a request that its licensees be admitted to the UK advertising white list, enabling them to market their services in the United Kingdom, reports the BBC. Island politicians are currently engaged with their British counterparts on the application after Jersey invested millions of pounds in preparing the island for an e-gaming industry.

Jersey apparently hopes for a temporary licence while the UK reviews gambling legislation, which could result in online gambling companies having to take out secondary British licensing if they want to advertise in the British media.

The chairman of the British Culture, Media and Sport Select Committee, John Whittingdale, has been in Jersey to discuss the issue with ministers, the BBC reports.

Whittingdale told the broadcaster: "It could be that a temporary solution could be found, that is one of the issues we were talking about.

"But it is likely there will be a new regime in due course and hopefully that is something Jersey could qualify for."

Jersey's assistant economic development minister Len Norman said the island hoped to have a solution in place within months.

"It is only recently our law has been approved, we are now making an application to the Minister in the UK to appear on that white list," he confirmed. "I have already had a meeting with the Minister, John Penrose in the United Kingdom and he is sympathetic to our position.

"There is a further meeting next month with the minister and we are hoping we will be allowed at least temporary access to that white list while the UK government reviews their gambling legislation."

The UK Gambling Act 2005 bans companies based outside the EU from marketing gambling services into the UK.

That includes advertising on television, radio, newspapers and in public spaces.

Alderney, the Isle of Man, Gibraltar and other offshore jurisdictions are already on the list.

Source: InfoPowa News