$ £

De Wolfe claims WSOP bracelet and rare triple crown

At the World Series of Poker Events 26 and 27 saw the two winners each claim their first WSOP bracelets, and in the case of one achieve a rare triple honour for tournament play by clinching three major titles.

Event 26 - the $1,500 buy-in Limit Hold'em contest - attracted 643 entrants, almost eighty percent of whom were busted out in the first day's action. By day 3 the field had been reduced to 15, four of whom were eliminated in the first half-an-hour of renewed play and a fifth not long after.

The final table came down to Al Barbieri in the lead on 495,000, followed by Glenn Engelbert (410,000), Demetrios Arvanetes, Rep Porter and Tomas Alenius all on 370,000, Jason Tam (255,000), Richard Brodie (195,000), Cole Miller (180,000), Kim-Phong Duong (175,000) and Dominik Kulicki (95,000).

By the time play reached the three handed stage, it was a close-run contest between Jason Tam in the lead on 970,000, Swedish pro player Tomas Alenius on 930,000 and Al Barbieri on 850,000, with Barbieri going into a card decline which finally saw him eliminated in third place for a payday of $80,072.

The elimination left Tam in a very strong position, holding 2,175,000 going into the heads up against Alenius's 720,000, but the cards were with the Swedish player who took a number of major pots until he was some 100,000 ahead of his rival, and thereafter it was just a matter of time and determined play until he emerged victorious. For his second placing finish Tam collected $121,999, whilst Alenius took the mian prize of $197,509 and his first ever WSOP winner's bracelet.

In Event #27 - the $5,000 buy-in Pot-Limit Omaha Hi/Lo Split 8 or Better - UK pro Roland De Wolfe triumphed and became only the second player in poker tournament history to win European Poker Tour, World Series of Poker and World Poker Tour titles; only Gavin Griffin has matched that feat.

198 players registered for the event, include many professionals such as Andy Black, Scott Clements, Antony Lellouche and Alex Kravchenko. The field generated a prize pool of $470,000.

The final table consisted of Scott Clements, Roland De Wolfe, Brett Richey, Robert Campbell, Alex Kravchenko, Andy Black, John Racener, Armando Ruiz and Anthony Lellouche

Scott Clements started final table play in the chip lead but only managed a third placing finish for $101,063, opening the way for the heads up between Roland De Wolfe and Brett Richey, with the former holding an impressive 4 to 1 chip lead over his opponent, leading to a quickly resolved contest. De Wolfe took his first bracelet, the distinction of holding three major titles in a year and $246,616 in main prize winnings. Richey collected a runner-up payday of $152,618.

Source: InfoPowa News

Share this