0
$ £
ushope777
Forum Angel
hope777's picture
Location: Minnesota USA
Joined: 1 Jan 2011
Posts: 12171
Thanks given: 955
Thanks received: 717
6 August 2012 - 1:59am

Another Computer Question???

15 replies • Last post

This is driving me up the wall. This used to happen maybe every other day, so I kept forgetting to ask my computer guy about it or research (which I did try once with no success) as to why this is happening.

I just picked up my computer after having a new hard drive installed, and now this "problem" is happening about once every HOUR! Here is the issue:

I am typing along or working in a class and all of a sudden it says my computer is disconnected from "Linksys," which is me. So, normally, one would just click on "connect to Linksys" and go back online. However, when I do that it always says, "Unable to connect to Linksys," and the ONLY way I have found to reconnect is to restart my computer. How annoying is that, folks?

I am thinking it must be some setting somewhere? But stumped as to why it is happening more often since I got my computer back.

Does anyone have a clue about this issue? Thought I would try here while I wait for my computer guy to call my back.

Hope777

Hope is a good thing, maybe the best of the things, and no good thing ever dies.
Shawshank Redemption

usbarbadosslim93
Forum Angel
barbadosslim93's picture
Location: Michigan
Joined: 28 Jan 2011
Posts: 7781
Thanks given: 535
Thanks received: 498
6 August 2012 - 4:13pm
#1

Ugh, I used to have this issue all the time with my old crappy computer. The issue was my wireless card in my computer. It sucked and I would have to restart the computer to get it to read again.

I will say that I don't know how to fix that, but my wife's Toshiba laptop does not have the issue at all unless the wifi really kicks out of our router (but this is rare).

ushope777
Forum Angel
hope777's picture
Location: Minnesota USA
Joined: 1 Jan 2011
Posts: 12171
Thanks given: 955
Thanks received: 717
6 August 2012 - 5:16pm
#2

Well at least someone has experienced this. My computer guy called this morning and said he had never heard of it, lol. He did mention it could be the "Dell driver?" whatever that is. This is really the best computer I have ever had, but I bought it used, and I just had that new hard drive installed, so it should last a while longer. I don't mind when that happens like every other day, but I was trying to take an online training class last night and it did it like four times during the class, once right in the middle of a quiz! Sad It is annoying.

Thanks for the response. Smile

Hope777

Hope is a good thing, maybe the best of the things, and no good thing ever dies.
Shawshank Redemption

auCL-Ed
StaffStaff
CL-Ed's picture
Location: Sydney
Joined: 7 Sep 2007
Posts: 6145
Thanks given: 2485
Thanks received: 1780
7 August 2012 - 2:04am
#3

Linksys is probably your wireless router that your computer connects to in order to get an internet connection. It could be interference from a few solid walls or someone running a wireless network next door, or it could be a dodgy card in your computer like slim said.

Always play it safe! Consult our list of rogue casinos and warnings before depositing.
Every comment you make in our forum earns you CLchips which can be used to buy real prizes in our CLchips shop!

usLuckyMe
Forum Angel
LuckyMe's picture
Location: Ohio, USA
Joined: 10 Dec 2011
Posts: 7400
Thanks given: 163
Thanks received: 222
7 August 2012 - 3:04am
#4

You can go to Start/Control Panel/Device Manager. See if there are any yellow (triangle) cautions. If so click on them and see if one is a driver. Do you have a Dell computer? If you have an outdated driver, you can usually go to the manufacturer (Dell?) and download a new driver.

I've had this problem many years ago. The problem then was when I would get a phone call on my regular phone, the computer which was dial-up would disconnect.

ushope777
Forum Angel
hope777's picture
Location: Minnesota USA
Joined: 1 Jan 2011
Posts: 12171
Thanks given: 955
Thanks received: 717
7 August 2012 - 3:20am
#5

Thanks for all the advice. I will check into this tomorrow. Strange, it hasn't happened as much today as it did yesterday. I will let you know if I get to the bottom of this!

Thanks, again, everyone! Smile

Hope777

Hope is a good thing, maybe the best of the things, and no good thing ever dies.
Shawshank Redemption

ushope777
Forum Angel
hope777's picture
Location: Minnesota USA
Joined: 1 Jan 2011
Posts: 12171
Thanks given: 955
Thanks received: 717
7 August 2012 - 6:14pm
#6
LuckyMe wrote:

You can go to Start/Control Panel/Device Manager. See if there are any yellow (triangle) cautions. If so click on them and see if one is a driver. Do you have a Dell computer? If you have an outdated driver, you can usually go to the manufacturer (Dell?) and download a new driver.

I've had this problem many years ago. The problem then was when I would get a phone call on my regular phone, the computer which was dial-up would disconnect.

There is no "device manager" option on my control panel. I clicked on some other icons, but I can't find anything related to the driver.

Hope777

Hope is a good thing, maybe the best of the things, and no good thing ever dies.
Shawshank Redemption

usLuckyMe
Forum Angel
LuckyMe's picture
Location: Ohio, USA
Joined: 10 Dec 2011
Posts: 7400
Thanks given: 163
Thanks received: 222
7 August 2012 - 10:39pm
#7

Want to pm me your computer name and type and I will see what I can find?

ushope777
Forum Angel
hope777's picture
Location: Minnesota USA
Joined: 1 Jan 2011
Posts: 12171
Thanks given: 955
Thanks received: 717
8 August 2012 - 12:53am
#8
LuckyMe wrote:

Want to pm me your computer name and type and I will see what I can find?

Okay! Will do!

Hope777

Hope is a good thing, maybe the best of the things, and no good thing ever dies.
Shawshank Redemption

ushope777
Forum Angel
hope777's picture
Location: Minnesota USA
Joined: 1 Jan 2011
Posts: 12171
Thanks given: 955
Thanks received: 717
11 August 2012 - 9:22pm
#9

This problem is SO annoying, so I tried a little more research (came up empty-handed last time). Yesterday, I would say I had to restart maybe two times. Today, I have restarted FIVE times in ONE hour, while I am searching and applying for jobs! Sad

I took some time, and this is one suggestion. I have not tried it yet, as I am still online (knock on wood!).

If your machine can’t connect to your network, use the following steps:
1. Open up a command prompt by pressing Windows Key+R and type cmd in the dialog box that appears.
2. At the command prompt, type ipconfig /release. Wait for the command to complete as it may take some time.
3. Once the previous command has finished, type ipconfig /renew to reconnect.
The above process will work with both a wired and wireless network. If you still can’t connect, verify that your router is online.

I was still curious as to WHY this could be happening, and I found these possible reasons. My router IS in my kitchen next to my phone and kind of close to my microwave. Do you think there is any truth to these things? I may try changing the channel as is also suggested. That is if I can figure out how to do THAT! lol Technology can sure be a PITA!

Possible reasons:
http://www.tek-tips.com/viewthread.cfm?qid=1609246

What do you all think?

Hope777

Hope is a good thing, maybe the best of the things, and no good thing ever dies.
Shawshank Redemption

usLuckyMe
Forum Angel
LuckyMe's picture
Location: Ohio, USA
Joined: 10 Dec 2011
Posts: 7400
Thanks given: 163
Thanks received: 222
12 August 2012 - 1:43am
#10

I've tried the steps before listed above and it did help. I'm not sure if the telephone and microwave would hinder your connection or not. It's possible I guess, but I don't have any personal experience to know.

That is infuriating to have to restart the computer that many times. Have you thought about calling your internet provider for answers?

usUbetcha
True PlayerTrue Player
Ubetcha's picture
Joined: 28 Dec 2011
Posts: 880
Thanks given: 222
Thanks received: 84
12 August 2012 - 3:19pm
#11

I think it's your microwave that causes this kind of problem.

Here's a link from Linksys Support: that confirms what I said above:
http://www6.nohold.net/Cisco2/ukp.aspx?pid=80&app=vw&vw=1&login=1&json=1...

Y'all take care.. =^. .^=

ushope777
Forum Angel
hope777's picture
Location: Minnesota USA
Joined: 1 Jan 2011
Posts: 12171
Thanks given: 955
Thanks received: 717
12 August 2012 - 7:33pm
#12

I will check out the link, UBetcha.

My question is if it is the Microwave, then why does it happen twice in one day then five times in one hour?

I tried the steps above, with the command and it did not work. My computer guy is still checking into it, too. It never used to happen as much until I got my computer back this time. Especially frustrating when in the middle of something, of course!

Hope777

Hope is a good thing, maybe the best of the things, and no good thing ever dies.
Shawshank Redemption

ushope777
Forum Angel
hope777's picture
Location: Minnesota USA
Joined: 1 Jan 2011
Posts: 12171
Thanks given: 955
Thanks received: 717
12 August 2012 - 7:35pm
#13

I keep losing Internet connection. What can I do?

If you are using your home wireless network, make sure your router is not positioned behind a thick wall or near a microwave oven.

Well, I live in a brick building, so I can't help that, lol. The microwave is in the kitchen, but not NEXT to the router. I AM open to and exploring all possibilities, though!

Hope777

Hope is a good thing, maybe the best of the things, and no good thing ever dies.
Shawshank Redemption

usUbetcha
True PlayerTrue Player
Ubetcha's picture
Joined: 28 Dec 2011
Posts: 880
Thanks given: 222
Thanks received: 84
13 August 2012 - 3:57am
#14

Have you tried resetting your router..? There's a small button somewhere that you press it or use a pin to release and push it back after 10 sec.

Or turn your router off, give it a few minutes and turn back on. The last recourse, buy an updated router (lol) They are not that expensive anymore, I think.

Hope this helps.

PS. a router should be away from your telephone..

Y'all take care.. =^. .^=

usLuckyMe
Forum Angel
LuckyMe's picture
Location: Ohio, USA
Joined: 10 Dec 2011
Posts: 7400
Thanks given: 163
Thanks received: 222
13 August 2012 - 5:50am
#15

How about unplugging your microwave and see if the problem resolves itself. If the computer doesn't shut off/disconnect then only plug the microwave in when you need to use it.

Share this